SOLSC 31 of 31: Reflecting on 14 years of Slicing

Today marks the end of the 14th year of completing this annual writing challenge.

Not one day of slicing missed. 434 slices. 434 pieces of my life, thoughts and journeys all captured in some format.

Not one day of commenting missed. 1,302 comments (and more). Some connections made, some inspiration found, some encouragement given.

13 hardcover books made with all of my slices in them. One for each challenge. One more will be ordered today. A gift to myself. A gift to my children – so that one day they will know the inner workings of my mind during these March days.

With this March challenge, there are some writing territories that come up time and time again as they are seasonal to March. Topics such as spring break travels, weather, sports events, food and recipes that come up again and again. And there are others that are much more singular or unique such as a cruise excursions or covid impacts back in 2020.

For me, this challenge is both inspirational and food for my writer’s soul. It gives me the structure to dig deep within my own thoughts and also connect with writers from everywhere to see theirs. 14 years of slicing has truly nurtured my writing soul. Looking forward to next year and year 15!

7 Comments

  1. Terje said,

    March 31, 2024 at 4:23 pm

    “This challenge is both inspirational and food for my writer’s soul” sums up the challenge beautifully. You have your SOLSC as books? This is fabulous. Flipping is probably much easier than scrolling the the blog.

  2. March 31, 2024 at 4:56 pm

    Thank you for encouraging me to start this challenge 5 years ago! I have also had books created, thanks to your suggestion.

    See you next year, oh, and tomorrow.

  3. lvahey said,

    March 31, 2024 at 5:30 pm

    WOW – you are an inspiration, and it makes me so hopeful that one day, I’d want to share my writing with others (right now, my Slicing is private to only this community!). And putting your Slices into books – so beautiful, too.

    I want to review my writing territories – I love that concept, and think it will be helpful to see what does – and doesn’t – land on the page and how I can be more vulnerable.

    Congratulations to you!

  4. onathought said,

    March 31, 2024 at 6:55 pm

    Love this- and that you have books made. That is just such a spectacular idea. I need to look into that. It is a window into my life for sure. My kids might never want to read the current ones. But later they might enjoy them.

  5. Denise Krebs said,

    March 31, 2024 at 9:01 pm

    Wow, what an accomplishment. And that is neat that you have published the posts from all 14 years. I bet that is fun to read them and see how you have grown and changed. All the best!

  6. Akilah said,

    April 1, 2024 at 5:45 am

    I never would have thought to have books created of my SOL posts. That is brilliant! What service do you use, if you don’t mind me asking?

    Also, congrats! 14 years, wow!


Leave a comment