SOLSC 17 of 31: Dog voices

When I was little, I used to give voices to my stuffed animals. They had their own personalities that I assigned to them and voices that went with them.

When my children were little, we gave their stuffed animals voices and personalities. Coconut, the monkey, the first beanie boo, was sure to tell all the other beanie boos that HE was there first!

And as we added dogs to our family, they too have been given voices. Of course, they have voices of their own with whines and barks and paws, but we’ve assigned them voices as well – to go with their personalities (both innate and perceived).

This year, I received a page-a-day calendar called, “Thoughts from a dog.”

These thoughts (above pics, just examples) resonate a little too well with me and my furry family members. It’s not just me though, I’ve checked in with my colleagues who have dogs and they can relate too! It seems we all have personified our dogs, given them voices that add to their personalities.

I wonder what “my dogs” will be saying today!

5 Comments

  1. March 17, 2024 at 3:13 pm

    Such a fun post! My son gave voices to some of our cats. Smudge for some reason speaks in a British accent and only says “I can’t believe it!” But that’s a useful expression to toss out there every so often.

  2. tbro said,

    March 17, 2024 at 3:36 pm

    We do this too! Our dog Luna calls herself Runa and speaks w/ the Scooby Doo voice for sure!

  3. March 17, 2024 at 6:41 pm

    I love this soooo much!!! It’s interesting that each dog we have seems to have a different personality/voice. I know at least one more slice this month has to be using my dog’s voice.

  4. caroline524 said,

    March 18, 2024 at 1:24 am

    I love this! We have been giving our dogs voices that match their personalities for years. We have entire conversations for them. 

  5. onathought said,

    March 18, 2024 at 1:51 am

    Oh yes! We definitely do this… and I do it at the dog park too – with all the dogs I meet. I think it’s possible the college students that frequent the dog park with their dogs think I’m a crazy old lady … oh well!


Leave a comment