SOLSC 15 of 31: Bonding over blintzes

Last night, I had the rare (maybe even unicorn) opportunity to have three teenage boys at my house cooking my great grandmother Sadie’s blintzes. The boys are in a Food Science and Nutrition class with my son and Fridays are “Foodie Fridays” – where students get to bring in food and make a presentation to the class about the food science of what they brought in. More, it’s just an opportunity to eat food. Who doesn’t love that?

So, my son requested that we make my great grandmother’s blintzes. He has done this several times with my mom, his grandmother and learned to perfect the making of the blintz crepes. This recipe isn’t hard, but it is time consuming (make the crepes, make the filling, fill the crepes, fry the filled blintzes) and it does take some finesse.

The boys quickly got into a rhythm – two making crepes, one making the filling (then frying the filled ones). However, because they are teenage boys… their focus was not 100% on the task at hand… maybe 70% on making the crepes and 30% on drafting players for their fantasy baseball teams. This is how that went:

Pour crepe batter into hot pan. Watch carefully.

Phone dings. “Oh, I’m on the clock!”

Teen leaves crepe unattended to draft a player.

I watch the crepes.

Teen returns to crepe duty.

Repeat over the next hour.

Nonetheless, they bonded over blintzes, made a delicious and unexpected dish for Foodie Friday and honed their cooking skills. Not to mention paying homage to Great Grandma Sadie!

Sadie Weisbart’s Blintzes

Makes 12

Batter:

6 eggs beaten

1 cup milk

1 cup of water

2 cups flour

1 tsp salt

2 tsps sugar

Put flour, sugar and salt  in a separate bowl.

Put eggs in a separate bowl, add milk, water and gradually add flour mixture. 

Filling:

2 pkgs of cream cheese (8 oz. each)

2 pkgs of farmer’s cheese (8 oz. each)

½ cup of sugar

2 tsps vanilla

To make crepes:

Use a 6” frying pan.  Spray with PAM. Pour ⅓ c into the small frying pan.  Brown lightly and flip. Use a pastry board to cool the crepes. 

To assemble: 

Lay out crepe, put about 3 tablespoons into crepe and roll them so that they are  all enclosed.  Then put back in the pan with butter to fry.

4 Comments

  1. Anita Ferreri said,

    March 15, 2024 at 1:05 pm

    This is a nice slice about teenage boys I did not expect! I’ve had to put my biased perspectives on the shelf and realized that teenaged boys can and will embrace cooking delicate crepes. PS Thanks for the recipe.

  2. vivian chen said,

    March 15, 2024 at 1:50 pm

    A unicorn moment indeed. As a stepmom to two boys I know moments like these can be rare. I’ll need to come back and try my hand at these blintzes!

  3. March 16, 2024 at 12:47 am

    Unicorn moment-great way to describe this event. This would most definitely be a unicorn moment in my house and I have all girls! This is such a sweet story that your son will love to read some day.

  4. March 16, 2024 at 2:29 pm

    What a fun moment to share. I love the picture you shared of the boys cooking. This line was so fun: “their focus was not 100% on the task at hand… maybe 70% on making the crepes and 30% on drafting players for their fantasy baseball teams. ” –and your example felt so spot on for kids! I love that you shared the recipe, too. I love blitzes–you have me wanting to try them making them now.


Leave a comment