SOLSC 9 of 31: Saturday’s Promise v. Saturday’s Reality

Saturdays promise the opportunity to get that TO DO list DONE. Whether it be small things like folding the laundry or BIG things like cleaning out the closet, this is a SATURDAY with very few scheduled events and the promise of the opportunity to GET THINGS DONE. And yet, with the skies already overcast and the forecast for very windy and rainy weather, my optimism is already fading.

Cleaning out the closet seems like such a BIG TASK. Do I feel like that much effort today? But if not now, when? Small tasks are easier. But the couch and my fleece blanket are calling me along with that just-ok-book that I just started.

Sitting at the kitchen counter, surveying my house there are SO MANY small and big tasks to take on. I should do them. I should. Really. It’s a Saturday with few obligations and just the opportune moment to get things DONE.

My motivation waivers, and yet, it’s not even 9 am. We shall see tomorrow whether the promise or the reality won out.

3 Comments

  1. onathought said,

    March 9, 2024 at 4:41 pm

    I feel this so much. I am working on allowing myself to chill out — enjoy relaxing. We need that time too (but man oh man, my laundry is definitely calling my name…)

  2. March 9, 2024 at 9:15 pm

    Yeah-I had high hopes for today but got sidetracked by not doing any of them. You describe the way the weather impacts us perfectly. I wonder what won out??


Leave a comment