The Proposal SOLC 28 of 31

This summer I will celebrate my 16th Wedding Anniversary. We’ve been together for 19 years. Seems crazy.  On the radio this morning callers were sharing their own proposal stories. I’ve told mine before, but never written it down. So, here it is, for posterity.

It was April 20, 2000. We had been living together in NYC for a year and had met in August of 1998.  When we met, in a NYC bar, we realized that we had been living only a block away from one another. When I eventually moved into his apartment, we literally rolled my furniture up the block and around the corner.

Anyway, April 20, 2000, I had just returned to the apartment after  heading to the gym after work. It was a weekday.  He came home from work and asked me to take a walk in the park with him. I didn’t want to. I had done my workout for the day, was in my gym clothes and truly didn’t want to get off the couch! But, he convinced me that it was a nice evening and that he really wanted to go for a walk. So off we went for a walk on a beautiful early evening in NYC. No shower, gym clothes, sneakers and all. Not glamourous.

We meandered our way through Central Park and up to Belvedere Castle. Along the way I remember that he was asking me if I wanted to get married – just sort of conversational. Me, having no clue, said, “Yes, someday.”  Shortly after that we reached the Castle, stood looking out over Central Park and he dropped to one knee and said something like, “could someday be today?” as he showed me the beautiful ring he selected for me. Of course, I said YES!

2 Comments

  1. March 28, 2017 at 9:32 pm

    I love Belvedere Castle. What a wonderful place for a proposal! So glad you captured it here.

    I got proposed to at the base of Central Park! Here’s more info on it: http://nymag.com/weddings/engagement/features/2006winter/yes/.


Leave a Reply

