Take in every moment – SOLC 25 of 31

Last night, I learned of the sudden death of an acquaintance. It happened out in public and will deeply effect the entire community, as it should.

I can’t stop thinking about her. Although I didn’t know her well, I did know her. I saw her yesterday sitting at her desk, wearing her school tie-dye shirt, smiling. I’m sure she didn’t think that when she left her desk for the day that she wouldn’t come back.  I remember seeing this quote on Facebook recently, “Most of the people who died yesterday had plans for today; dont take life for granted.”  She had plans for last night and she had plans for today. She had plans for Sunday and Monday and many tomorrows.

I hugged my kids a lot tighter last night – all the while thinking of her young kids who wouldn’t be able to get one more hug from their mom. It’s hard to even go there.

And so, today, I’m going to take it slow and revel in the moments that are being created today. I’m going to appreciate what I have and who I share it with – because you truly just never know.

Keeping her and her family in my thoughts today, and hugging my own kids a lot tighter.

Leave a Reply

