Clean and Organized? SOLC 22 of 31

We are, organization and cleanliness-wise, a reaction to our parents and how we were brought up.  My grandmother was the  neatest, cleanest, don’t-leave-a-crumb-on-the-counter house keeper.  My mom and dad’s house in contrast, was a lived-in, clutter-friendly, don’t-cry-over-spilled-milk-and-messes home. My house is in the middle of those two – or at least I thought it was.

I tried to keep it more clutter-free than my mom’s, but it often feels impossible.  The counter holds today and yesterday’s mail, homework, a notice that I have to sign, charging cords, grocery lists and more. The sink is filled with dirty dishes despite the fact that I feel like I am ALWAYS doing dishes, emptying the dishwasher, filling the dishwasher and placing clean dishes. The bench in front of my bed  holds clothes worn during the week (too tired at the end of the day to put them away). Shoes (from all of us) are scattered around the house and in the bedrooms.

My 12 year old daughter hates it. Her room is perfectly clean and organized ALWAYS. She loves to organize, label and watch videos on organization tips and tricks. Exasperated by our overflowing pantry, she encouraged me to clean it out and reorganize it during our last snow day. The results are impressive.  And now, she has challenged me and the rest of my family to see how long we can keep or pantry organized and labeled. So far, 1 week later, we are still OK! Let’s see if we can keep this up and if so, maybe this organization bug will creep over to the sink section of my kitchen! IMG_6275.JPG

3 Comments

  1. Adrienne said,

    March 22, 2017 at 12:28 pm

    This is great! As a teen, I told my mom that my disorganization and messiness was my form of rebellion. My rebellion has never gone away.

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 22, 2017 at 5:17 pm

    I laughed when I read this because it perfectly describes what my house usually looks like despite my best efforts. I think Live should help organize my gang.

  3. Ramona said,

    March 27, 2017 at 6:14 pm

    I love this. I have a daughter who is much more organized than me. I caught her in my pantry recently (she’s 30) culling things out for me! I love it when they help us and your daughter’s efforts in the pantry are beautiful.


Leave a Reply

