Oven-Baked Pancakes (SOLC 18 of 31)

Some recipes withstand the test of time. They are enjoyed generation, to generation. This is one of them.

Weekends are for Oven-Baked Pancakes. An alternate to regular pancakes, this one is baked in the oven, more custard like than cake-like and enjoyed with lemon juice, powdered sugar or syrup.

My mom used to make this for me when I was little. It was a special treat. It was a weekend treat. Now I make it for my daughter. It’s also a weekend treat. It’s easy and not too time consuming, but it’s special enough to save for a Saturday morning breakfast.

It’s the kind of breakfast that requires a special oven-safe pan. That’s okay, it’s a deliciously different breakfast treat – it can require a special pan.

The hand-written recipe (from my mom’s friend who gave her the recipe)  was given to me in a recipe book put together for my engagement party years ago. I know the recipe by heart, but still refer to recipe on the blue and white card in the blue and white floral 3-ring binder – special recipes from special people.

Here’s the recipe if you’d like to try it out:

Oven-Baked Pancake

Ingredients: 3 eggs, 1/2 c. flour, 1/2 c. milk, pinch salt, 1 T sugar, fresh ground nutmeg, 2 oz. butter, lemon juice, powdered sugar

Directions: Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Beat eggs lightly. Add milk, four, salt, sugar and nutmeg. Mix well.

Place butter in a 10″ cast iron or oven-safe skillet. Heat until melted.

Pour batter into hot skillet in 450 degree oven. Bake 10-15 minutes or until very puffy and golden brown.

Serve topped with lemon juice and powdered sugar.

Serve IMMEDIATELY!

IMG_6287.JPG

5 Comments

  1. March 18, 2017 at 2:22 pm

    My children are grown, but I will try getting them here for a Saturday breakfast. This sounds like a tradition worth starting. Since I have my mom’s iron skillet, it could be a way of insuring it is passed on and used well. My mom used it for cornbread, but I don’t think the “younger generation” inherited the love for that.

  2. rosecappelli said,

    March 18, 2017 at 9:46 pm

    This sounds delicious! Thank you for sharing. I love how you said you still look at the recipe even though you know it. Tradition!

  3. Sonja Schulz said,

    March 19, 2017 at 12:15 am

    Loved this post! I really enjoy recipes passed down—it makes them extra special. This one looks like a real winner. I will definitely be trying this out!

  4. caroline524 said,

    March 19, 2017 at 2:26 am

    Wow, the picture is very inviting. I need to try this recipe very soon. It reminds me of a German pancake. Yum!


Leave a Reply

