Poppy’s 100th Birthday (SOLC 15 of 31)

Yesterday would have been my Poppy’s (grandpa’s) 100th birthday. He died at the age of 66, when I was almost 10.  It’s hard to imagine what he would have been like today. Born in 1917, my how the world has changed! My aunt Ellynn says that the one thing that he would have loved the most about the modern times is the Internet – he would have loved having so much information at his fingertips.

I don’t remember many things about him, but I do have some key memories that have become the whole of the memories I have:

  • His beard
  • His glasses
  • Playing solitaire with him at his house, him in his big blue chair with the snack table in front of him, me on his lap or standing behind him on the chair.
  • His pipes. If I am anywhere where someone is smoking a pipe (which is very infrequent these days), the smell always conjures up images of him.
  • His smile.
  • His warm laugh (always with his grandchildren).
  • His loves of reading books which lives on in all of his grandchildren.
  • His business as an optometrist – he always made sure I had glasses that were on trend!

Happy 100th Birthday Poppy! Hope we are making you proud!

4 Comments

  1. March 15, 2017 at 9:55 pm

    What a special post in honor of your Poppy! He sounds like such a special man.

    Tomorrow is the anniversary of my Grandpa’s passing. (He died on March 16th, 1990 when he was 80. There’s no way he could’ve made it this long, but I still think of him often.)

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 16, 2017 at 1:56 am

    What a beautiful list of key memories. Each one could be its own story. It’s great to have those memories to pass on to your children. I often think about my Grandfather and the memories of our times together.


Leave a Reply

