I’m Writing, I’m Writing (SOLC 13 of 31)

I’m writing, I’m writing as fast as I can! You see, I’m on a mission. It’s a mission that I set for myself – to write a handwritten note to every student sometime between the first day of school and the last day of school. It’s one that I’ve done every year that I’ve been an administrator.  This year I have about 430 notes to write. I’m probably about half-way done.  These images below are of the wonderful and amazing stacks of stories that I read this morning and some of the numerous notes that I wrote to students about them. I’m writing, I’m writing as fast as I can.

When I was in elementary school, my Principal, Dr. Clark, would often write us handwritten notes in beautiful calligraphy. While I don’t have his calligraphy skills, I do remember how proud I was to get those encouraging notes. And so, from the first year I served as an Assistant Principal, I’ve written notes too.  And I hear from students and parents that they are cherished – that they hang on the bulletin boards and refrigerators in their homes, that they are put into scrap books and that they are saved and reread. I love that. I love that my notes linger and live on and give students an opportunity to know that they are noticed and loved and believed in.  So, I’m writing, I’m writing, as fast as I can to meet this year’s deadline and make sure that everyone gets a note. IMG_6273.JPGIMG_6274.JPG

1 Comment

  1. caroline524 said,

    March 14, 2017 at 2:24 am

    The notes are very much appreciated. I know we have a couple here in scrapbooks! You may have a lot of time tomorrow to write notes.


Leave a Reply

