Pain in the Back (SOLC 9 of 31)

I never understood back pain, until now. I empathized with people who had it. I sympathized with them. I imagined it was uncomfortable and inconvenient. I heard that it could be daily life functioning-interrupting.  But I didn’t truly know, until now.

Even now, with the back pain of a herniated disk sitting near the sciatic nerve, I know that my intermittent pain is nothing compared to that some others have.

But it is, truly, a pain in the neck, I mean, back. Sometimes the pain lingers down my leg and into my toes. Actually, that’s where it started – with tingly toes and aches in my leg.  Now it mostly sits in my lower back and on the worst days revisits its path down my leg.

I’ve been staying the course with the physical therapy and hoping that as promised, it will ease. On good days it’s not much to think about – but on bad days, on tired days, on sore days, it’s one more layer to push through, to ignore and to deal with. Ugh. Today is one of those days.

3 Comments

  1. Dana Murphy said,

    March 9, 2017 at 5:13 pm

    Oh gosh, this sounds so miserable. I’m sorry you’re dealing with this and really hope you can find some relief.

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 10, 2017 at 1:49 am

    I can almost feel the pain as you described it shooting down your back and through your leg. I may use this as an idea to write about the pain in my hip and the lengthy physical therapy. Ugh!


Leave a Reply

