Words that cut (SOLC 5 of 31)

“I hate Lays,” she said.

“You used to like them,” I said.

“No, I didn’t. You don’t pay attention to me,” she said.

“How about pretzels?” I asked.

“I CAN’T EAT PRETZELS,” she screamed back.

In my defense, I’m 99.9% sure she did used to like Lays potato chips, and the pretzel sticks that I have in my pantry are from a recipe she made recently and ate.

A simple conversation between a mom and her pre-teen, but those words cut, “you don’t pay attention to me.” They make my blood boil, my heart race and my temper flair.

“I DO! I DO! I DO!” I want to shout. But her tastes and moods and whims change as frequently as the wind changes direction. I’m having trouble navigating it.

My friend recently described middle school as a “hurricane of hormones,” and the “messy middle,” – boy, it sure is!

Each day I promise myself that I won’t let her mood influence mine, that I won’t let her cutting words spark a reaction from me – but each day I find that while I may be able to ignore or walk away from most of them, there’s at least one exchange that leads to an uncomfortable moment for both of us. Working on that, working on that.

3 Comments

  1. Adrienne said,

    March 5, 2017 at 4:02 pm

    I teach middle school, by choice and I love it. I am glad I don’t have to go home to one at the end of the day. The good news is that it will pass. Maybe, next time you go shopping, ask her which brand of chips she’d like.

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 6, 2017 at 2:55 am

    I like the layout of the conversation, including the capitals for emphasis. Middle school is definitely a hurricane of hormones but the good thing about all hurricanes is that they do end. Breathe deeply and face the storm head on.

  3. Ramona said,

    March 27, 2017 at 6:26 pm

    A hurricane of hormones and the messy middle – someone has nailed those middle school years. It helps to know that others are others who are struggling – “…there’s at least one exchange that leads to an uncomfortable moment for both of us.” Keep working, the years will pass, and you’ll weather the storm.


Leave a Reply

