On Stretching Your Brain – SOLC 2 of 31

For the past month I’ve been going classroom to classroom reading the book The Fantastic Elastic Brain by by JoAnn Deak Ph.D. and Sarah Ackerley. It’s a book that’s growth mindset meets grit and perseverance.  This picture book is a well-illustrated and well-written book that gives students an idea of how the brain works, all of its parts and what each one is responsible for (storing memories, controlling emotions, coordinating balance, thinking and speaking, etc.)  The premise of the book is that the more mistakes you make and the more you keep trying to get something right, the more you are growing and stretching your brain.  It’s a great message for students K-5. 

But it’s left me feeling a bit guilty about my own brain. Have I been doing enough learning and reading on my own? Certainly my daily life brings me plenty of challenges (and mistakes), but am i reading, trying new things and taking care of my own brain?

One part of the book specifically talks about the Amygdala (which controls emotions) and how you can stretch that part of your brain every time you confront something that is scary or anxiety producing and do it anyway. This I can relate to. There are many “uncomfortable” moments that we are presented with daily – but we do them anyway.  And, it’s true, the more you push through them, the easier (not more comfortable, but easier) they are to have.

I wonder how I’ll stretch my brain today. How about you?

1 Comment

  1. caroline524 said,

    March 2, 2017 at 5:05 pm

    I must get a copy of that book to use with my students. I like the message that even though things may be scary and we may make mistakes, it makes us better. I think this 31 day challenge already makes us stretch our brains.


Leave a Reply

