My March Madness (vol. 7) – SOLC 1 of 31

Dusting off the password to my writing blog, I enter my 7th year of the Slice of Life Writing Challenge. It’s my March Madness. No brackets, no betting, no rooting for a favorite team  – but a month long exercise in stick-to-it-ness, creativity and reflection.

As I talked with a classroom of 5th graders yesterday (who will be doing the Classroom Challenge for the first time this year), I noted to them that my favorite part about this March Madness is the freedom to write about anything without the pressure of feeling that it’s not quite right. I appreciate that it forces me to notice small things, take pictures, write down quotes, make connections and capture them in my writing.

For my March Madness, my March writing tournament of sorts, I do feel a bit rusty, a bit unpracticed — see, I haven’t been doing much writing for myself lately. I do A LOT of writing daily – notes to students, observations, e-mails, recommendations, letters to parents, rationales, etc. — but it’s not this kind of writing.  Unlike the basketball player who has trained all season for the NCAA tournament, I haven’t.

But that’s what I like about it. I can dust myself off, go slowly at first and find my groove as I write through the month of March in My March Madness.

1 Comment

  1. caroline524 said,

    March 1, 2017 at 10:57 pm

    I love your comparison to basketball. I can almost picture your list of the types of writing you do on a daily basis as a list poem.
    Well, the game has begun and you are on the team roster. The clock is ticking and you are in the starting line up.


Leave a Reply

