SOLC 23 of 31: The lost art of handwriting

The other day I was making a recipe of my grandmother’s. I still use the recipe card that she wrote it on for a recipe book that my mom put together for my engagement party. Her handwriting is curvy and formal and my middle school daughter commented that she couldn’t read the cursive. It is pushed and pulled in all the right ways showing her deliberate strokes. It truly is a piece of art.

It got me thinking about the lost art of handwriting. My handwriting is anything but artistic, and let’s be honest, most days and most things now, we type. As I look at my recipe book, I realized that I have other recipe cards from relatives that are no longer alive – and that beyond our memories and photos this may be the one piece of handwriting of theirs that I still have to remember them.  Unlike losing the memory of someone’s voice, their handwriting can be preserved.  I’m glad I have this piece of my grandmother to look back on and remember her by.  Her cursive still reflects her personality – formal and fun. Her recipe cards always ended with “Enjoy!” – revealing her love for the food she made. I’m sure that my word-processed entries won’t reflect my personality the same way her curvy handwriting was did her. It truly is a lost art.

1 Comment

  1. jarhartz said,

    March 23, 2016 at 3:17 pm

    You make the case for students learning cursive. I’m imagining our future historians taking graduate level courses in handwriting.


Leave a Reply

