SOLC 8 of 31: I’m THAT mom…

I wish I wasn’t.

I wish I wasn’t THAT mom. But I know I am.

I know that when my e-mail address pops up, her teacher is annoyed.

I know that when I schedule a meeting, the Principal or AP will also be called into attendance.

I wish I wasn’t THAT mom. See, I’m an Elementary School Principal myself. So I know what that feels like on the other side.

But I’ve tried to be polite while advocating and asking questions. I’ve tried to take the higher road and ask what I can do to help and support at home. I’ve tried to dole out the consequences at home to ensure that my daughter is doing her part.  And yet, I don’t feel the same effort from the other side. How is it that my strong LA girl is now failing middle school LA? How is that okay? Why isn’t the teacher more concerned? Why isn’t she reaching out?

I know I’m not the only one. There are a few of us who exchange frustrated texts.

I wish I wasn’t THAT mom. I’d like to be the supporter and advocate for the teachers, but in this situation, I’m so frustrated, I can’t.  Last night I fired off an e-mail to the teacher asking for an in-person meeting ASAP.

I wish I wasn’t THAT mom.

2 Comments

  1. cmargocs said,

    March 8, 2016 at 11:57 am

    This Slice illustrates your frustration perfectly…would it help to share it with the teacher involved, to emphasize you should both be on the same side here–the side of helping your daughter succeed? Being an educator yourself only makes this harder, I know. I hope this gets resolved soon!

  2. Caroline said,

    March 9, 2016 at 2:16 am

    You can feel the frustration in your post. I have been in that situation. Unfortunately, there are times when you have to be THAT mom.


Leave a Reply

