SOLC 5 of 31: And we are down…

Yup. It hit in the middle of the night. I heard the footsteps of a child awake and the bathroom door opening. The unmistakable sounds of a child being sick.

I nudged my husband awake, “throw-up is not my thing,” I said. He got up. He cleaned up. (Thank goodness!) But so did I – working as the secondary clean-up assistant.

And so the stomach bug has hit our house. Along with two loads of laundry before 6 am. And Lysol cans and wipes hitting every surface.

My son sleeps now on the couch, tired and tuckered and cuddled under blankets. This is the quiet before the next storm.

I stare down my Saturday – the list of things that I will not now do today. But that’s ok, because now I’m tired…and my stomach is starting to hurt….

 

6 Comments

  1. Susanne said,

    March 5, 2016 at 12:03 pm

    So sorry! Hope everyone gets better quickly.

  2. Lisa said,

    March 5, 2016 at 12:15 pm

    Oh dear! Those sick days are no fun. Hope everyone mends quickly.

  3. Cindy said,

    March 5, 2016 at 12:43 pm

    Oh, I’m so sorry. I think you just instilled panic in all of us. 🙂 I think I can read about someone having the stomach flu 10 hours away and still think I’m next. One day a few weeks ago I had three kids home sick from school on the same day. At least we got three over with at once. I do think that’s better than spreading it out. Hope you’re all done and well quickly.

  4. aileenhower said,

    March 5, 2016 at 1:40 pm

    Oh, no! Hope that it moves quickly, like it did in our house. You and your husband’s roles around this type of event are the same as mine. In fact, the one time I tried to take lead, I wound up adding to the predicament – yuck and yikes!

  5. caroline524 said,

    March 6, 2016 at 2:30 am

    At our house, my husband is the one to take care of throw up and I take care of blood.
    I hope he feels better soon. Take care.


Leave a Reply

