SOLC 1 of 31: Dusting off the blog…

It’s my sixth year with the Slice of Life Challenge.  Today, I’m dusting off my blog. Much like I’d dust off my bike. Last night I checked my blog, remembered how to sign in, visited the site and re-familiarized myself with how to post my entry.  Much like I’d check the air in my tires, check my route, look for my water bottle and find my helmet.

This morning I thought about my first post. Much like I’d think about my bike ride destination – how far would I go on that first spring ride? How much would I write today and on what topic?

Throughout the year I write, but not very often. But there is something about the marathon of 31 days of writing each March which inspires me, pulls me in and forces me to find my inner author.

Today I feel creaky and unsteady, much like I would on my first spring ride. But I know that soon enough, writing each day will be just like riding a bike – something you never forget how to do, that gets easier over time and that feels both refreshing and rejuvenating when its over.

Here’s to dusting off the blog and getting going once again.

6 Comments

  1. Janie said,

    March 2, 2016 at 12:15 am

    I love your metaphor of writing being like a rusty bike ride! I haven’t participated in SOL before, but I’m excited and kind of anxious about it. I like to hear that it gets easier to write day by day! One day down…
    Janie
    http://janiefahey.blogspot.com/2016/03/memories-of-smells-sol16.html

  2. Katy Collins said,

    March 2, 2016 at 12:25 am

    You expressed my thoughts today exactly! I, too, dusted off my blog and got back at it! What a blessing to come together with friends each year that value and love writing! This is my third year….I hope to reach 6 like you one day! Welcome back!!

  3. Katy Collins said,

    March 2, 2016 at 12:29 am

    I, too, am dusting off my blog this year! It can be hard to post all year, but what a blessing to come together once a year for a month with like-minded friends who value writing so much! This is my third year, and I hope to be at 6 years someday like you! Welcome back!!!

  4. rissable said,

    March 2, 2016 at 1:31 am

    Me too! So glad to know that there are others like me! You said it so eloquently.

  5. Leigh Anne said,

    March 2, 2016 at 1:37 am

    One of the best parts of being in this community is not only meeting new slicers, but also meeting slicers who have been gone awhile. Welcome back and here’s to March’s bike ride!

  6. caroline524 said,

    March 3, 2016 at 3:19 pm

    Great metaphor! I’m hoping that my bike transforms into an electronic scooter…effortless thought to power but focusing more on navigation.


Leave a Reply

