Life moves fast, so slice on…SOLC 2015, 31 of 31

I think what I love most about 31 days of slicing is that it captures and memorializes a month in my life, a month of my thinking and noticings, a month of captured conversations, questions and situations.

Life moves fast, so slicing allows us to honor the moment and then hold on to it.

Today marks the completion of 5 years of slicing. For each year, I have created a hard-cover shutterfly book with each of my slices in them.  Today, I will complete Volume V. Very cool. And one day, I’ll look back on what I wrote each March and some things will still resonate and others will seem silly or mundane, but I will have written them.  And they will be there long after I’m gone for my kids to know my words, my tone and my thoughts.

In this digital world, I think sometimes we allow our work to be so fluid and digital that we forget the art of the published text in hard copy.  So if you can, take your slices off your blog and print them, or make a book or create a folder where they also live for others who may not be so digitally inclined, to read them.

Life moves fast, so slice on…

And I hope to….every Tuesday!

4 Comments

  1. arlsvera said,

    March 31, 2015 at 1:20 pm

    That’s a great idea! It IS nice to hold on to something and to read it — and you have volumes of memories at your fingertips!

  2. March 31, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    I agree. Really nice idea to make something bound and printed that you can hold in your hand.

  3. Jill Stalter said,

    March 31, 2015 at 2:06 pm

    I was thinking the same thing. It will be so great to look back at this month at all the small moments!

  4. March 31, 2015 at 2:44 pm

    I think this is great! How did you do it? Life does move fast and it is amazing what can be captured when we stop to notice.


Leave a Reply

