Shopping Sunday, SOLC 2015, 29 of 31

It’s Sunday. Time to go grocery shopping while the kids are at Hebrew School. I hate grocery shopping. I always feel overwhelmed by the options in the store. Overwhelmed and not up to the challenge.

I have my list. I stick to it, for the most part. Usually coming home with something that wasn’t planned or needed. Sometimes I come home with something unplanned by really delicious! Last week I picked up a gelato that was scrumptious. This week it’s on my list to buy again.

In the checkout line, I review the items of those before me and those after me. Better choices. More creative. I wonder what they are making. Trying to get inspired before my next shopping trip. In line, I peruse the cooking magazines – EASY, LIGHT, 5 INGREDIENTS – they say. I could do that, right. But I leave the magazine behind, afraid that it will sit unused once its at home.

But, it’s Sunday. Time to face the grocery store. Here we go…

4 Comments

  1. lgrainger125 said,

    March 29, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    I know how you feel. After spending a week in Guatemala and a week in Haiti I found the grocery store full of so many choices overwhelming. Since then I find myself sticking to the perimeter mostly, avoiding most of the processed foods.

  2. gillis said,

    March 29, 2015 at 12:50 pm

    I feel your pain. I buy those magazines, try one recipe once and promptly forget about the whole thing. Wish I were more adventurous!

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 29, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    This struck a chord with me. I have many of those magazines sitting on the coffee table and I go to the store with a shopping list filled with creativity and potential, but then I come to the realization that my list was just a “list of suggestions.” Oh well, there’s always next time.

  4. mrssurridge said,

    March 30, 2015 at 2:40 am

    I hate the grocery store. Luckily, my husband doesn’t. I write out the list and send him off with a kiss. He comes back with half of the stuff included on list and some things not included. I used to care, but I’ve realized that I would rather have that than have to go myself.


Leave a Reply

