Finding motivation from comments and commenting, SOLC 2015, 23 of 31

Yesterday (maybe due to the commenting challenge), I got a lot of comments on my post. And each time I checked my inbox, there were more comments for me to moderate. And each time I read a comment, my heart leaped with joy knowing that another reader had connected with my writing in some way. The result was immediate. Not only was I more energized to keep posting, but I was more energized to keep commenting on other people’s posts.

So, that got me thinking about this type of community and the commenting and what it does for us as writers, teachers, parents, people. It allows us to be vulnerable and safe at the same time, while operating under an assumed honor code of respectful communication. It assumes that we are all entering this challenge willingly and are wanting to connect with others. This is empowering. The praise for the effort, the content and the craft propels us forward to do more, to do better and to try harder.

How then, can we bring this into our classroom worlds daily? Not only in the area of writing, but in all areas – to allow students to feel the positivity and be motivated by it? I don’t have the answer yet, but it’s rolling around in my mind. Post-its? Compliment sticks? Bookmarks? But the idea of it being in writing so that it lives and can be referred back to is compelling. Because on the days that we don’t feel at our best, it sometimes can be the positive feedback that keeps us moving forward.

3 Comments

  1. smpeters said,

    March 23, 2015 at 2:15 pm

    So very true. When I receive a thoughtful, heartwarming, reflective comment, I read, and read, and read it again. Too often we let the negative in; I would much rather wallow in joy than misery. I love the idea of leaving a trail of our positivity that can be referred to as often as needed. Let me know of any epiphanies you have 🙂 Thanks for keeping us thinking.

  2. Dana Murphy said,

    March 23, 2015 at 2:20 pm

    Yes, this is so, so true. I have a big bunch of colleagues (40+) doing this challenge with me this year, and this is the BIG question: How can we recreate this supportive, caring, safe community in our classrooms?

    This community is one of my favorite places to be. 🙂

  3. mrssurridge said,

    March 24, 2015 at 4:45 am

    I, too, have been very motivated by the comments left for me. Each day I am sure to revise and edit well because someone may read it and I want it to touch them enough to leave a comment. My class is also blogging and thrilled when they can tell me at the door in the morning that they got a comment. It continues to motivate, no matter the age.


Leave a Reply

