Journeys, SOLC 2105, 21 of 31

This morning I spoke on a panel for High School Students about the journey into Elementary Education. It was a powerful hour spent answering questions about how you got from here to there. Seated at the front dais, bookended by my elementary colleagues. It got me thinking about my journey to where I am now. Couple that, with a format posted by another blogger earlier in this challenge and my post was inspired.

Today, I am a Elementary School Principal.
Before that, I was an Elementary School Assistant Principal for Grades 3-5.
Before that, I was an Elementary School Assistant Principal for Grades K-2.
Before that, I was a Elementary School Assistant Principal in NYC.
Before that, I was a K/1 Literacy and Math Staff Developer.
Before that, I was a K/1 classroom teacher.
Before that, I was an EK/K classroom teacher.
Before that, I was a 4/5 classroom teacher.
Before that, I was in graduate school to be a teacher.
Before that, I was in college, unsure of what route to pursue.

Now, I know, that I chose the right route.

11 Comments

  1. March 21, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    What a great journey! And a great message to high school students. We don’t always know what route to pursue. We just keep moving along and hope we get lucky enough to find our way to the destination where we love what we do!

  2. March 21, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    love it, and am going to try it too….you have come a long way 🙂 xo

  3. eloularson said,

    March 21, 2015 at 7:45 pm

    Liked the style of your journey to elementary principal. great post.

  4. Darla & Jen said,

    March 21, 2015 at 7:47 pm

    Your post in inspiring. We hope you’ve enjoyed every step along your journey. Sounds like you are in the perfect place.
    Darla & Jen

  5. March 21, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    I love this, and the feeling of building, building, building, to find your perfect spot.

  6. rosecappelli said,

    March 21, 2015 at 11:04 pm

    I really like this format for introducing yourself! The journey is always so interesting.

  7. March 21, 2015 at 11:21 pm

    Great last line, and great, inspiring message to give to students. It takes a vision and a long time to get from there to here sometimes. Great to share that it’s worth it.

  8. March 22, 2015 at 2:13 am

    It’s wonderful that you can inspire future teachers with your own journey.

  9. Sonja Schulz said,

    March 22, 2015 at 3:17 am

    wonderful post! I like the style of it, especially. Love that you’ve arrived in your perfect spot!

  10. spillarke said,

    March 22, 2015 at 10:03 am

    Love the progression and seeing your journey. I bet the students you spoke to today enjoyed it too.

  11. caroline524 said,

    March 23, 2015 at 2:48 am

    What a great way to reflect on a journey. Love the idea. I think I will borrow this idea for a future post.


Leave a Reply

