Driving towards Dread, SOLC 2015, 20 of 31

Have you ever been on your way somewhere and just wishing that it was already over? Ever feel like you are driving toward a dreaded situation? But, just like the story of “We’re going on a Bear Hunt,” there’s no way over it, no way under it, just got to go through it?

That’s how I felt driving my 8 year old son to the orthodontist the other day to get his palate expander put into place. As I pulled into the driveway of our house to pick him up, he came out to the car crying, fingers underneath his glasses lenses, wiping the tears. In the car he sobbed, “why?! why do I have to get my palate expander today?!”

As I started driving toward the orthodontist, with him sobbing in the back seat, I felt like I was driving towards dread. I worried that he wouldn’t cooperate with the orthodontist once we got there. That we’d have to come back ANOTHER day.In the parking lot of the orthodontist, I got out. He didn’t. He climbed from the front seat to the back seat, hiding.

And then,somehow, he got out of the car. He stopped crying. He walked into the orthodontist’s office and marched back into the dental chair.

In the waiting room, I waited to hear the cries and complaints. I didn’t. I waited to see if the orthodontist would come get me and tell me that my son wasn’t cooperating. He didn’t.

And then I heard, “Max’s mom, he is done.” Already? Wow! No cries, no protests. He did it.

And then, we were driving away from dread and on our way home.

2 Comments

  1. jmjd said,

    March 20, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    We’ve all anticpiated the worst. Glad to hear that your worst fears weren’t met.

  2. mrssurridge said,

    March 20, 2015 at 3:15 pm

    When I saw your title all I could think about was the dentist. I can totally relate to Max.


Leave a Reply

