Stay calm and ignore the mood swings, SOLC 2015, 18 of 31

Phew. This pre-teen hormone fluctuation is ridiculous! You never know which mood you are going to get from one minute to the next. It’s exhausting, humbling, frustrating, infuriating and confusing all at the same time.

I guess that’s how she is feeling too.

I’m trying to just stay calm and not feed into the mood swings. Mostly, when the disrespect and unfair comments come flying, I just walk away, stay silent or leave the room. Sometimes there are consequences beyond that – depending on how the situation goes.

These days, it often feels like I’m dodging emotional bullets each morning or each evening. Never knowing when they are coming, what is triggering them or when they will stop.

I dig deep, pull out my emotional armor and try to stay calm and ignore the mood swings. When possible, I try to offer her a sympathetic ear, but often she doesn’t really want one – not yet. It’s a fine line between empathy, sympathy and letting her vent outrageously or over-react. We’ll find our way, and this too, shall pass – in about 6-8 years!

5 Comments

  1. Sonja Schulz said,

    March 18, 2015 at 12:45 pm

    I can definitely empathize with your slice today! My oldest daughter is 12 and we, too, are navigating these waters. “I guess that is how she is feeling too”—this line is gold. I’ll try to keep this in my head when the fireworks are on at my house, too. Thanks!

  2. heisereads said,

    March 18, 2015 at 6:54 pm

    As a 7th & 8th grade teacher, even without kids of my own, I feel like this is speaking directly to what I encounter on a daily basis!

  3. Leigh Anne said,

    March 18, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    I love your description of dodging bullets. That is so true! But like you said, it will pass and it does get better.

  4. Mary Dunn said,

    March 19, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    I found my daughter’s teenage years to be the most challenging of my parenting years. How such a lovely little girl could turn into such a difficult person was hard to deal with and understand. Take care of yourself. Pamper yourself. It will help you and that in turn will help you help her.

  5. caroline524 said,

    March 24, 2015 at 2:20 am

    There are times when it feels like you are walking on a balance beam. You try to maintain your balance, perform other maneuvers, and keep a smile on your face. You will get through this with a perfect 10.


Leave a Reply

