Remembering Poppy, SOLC 2015, 17 of 31

March 14th would have been my Grandfather Lenny’s (Poppy) 98th birthday. He died almost 32 years ago, when I was almost 10. It’s funny how we remember the dead on what would have been their birthdays – ironic, huh? But his birthday is just as good of day as any to remember him. My memories of him are more snippets and moments rather than stories.

I remember…
his blue velvet club chair in the den across from the TV.
his love of playing solitaire on the snack table that sat in front of that blue velvet chair.
that I loved to comb his hair and he let me, as I stood on the back of the blue velvet chair.
that he loved books. LOVED books. He often read a book a day.
that when he died, the library called to ask where he was and why he had not been by to visit.
that he had a great laugh.
that he wore glasses.
that he had a short beard.
that he was a member of the Lions club.
that he was an optometrist.
that he was mad at himself for not catching my lazy-eye sooner.
that he picked out the most fashion-forward glasses for me and fitted them just perfectly.
that he loved to travel (but my grandma didn’t, although she went).
that he traveled to Peru and China on wonderful trips.
that he was warm and cuddly and grandfatherly.

That’s what I remember.

4 Comments

  1. Shelby said,

    March 17, 2015 at 3:26 pm

    I love how you siad”I loved to comb his hair and he let me”that made me laugh inside

  2. Lynn said,

    March 17, 2015 at 7:37 pm

    So so sweet! He sounded like a wonderful man and Poppy!

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 18, 2015 at 2:19 am

    What beautiful memories. It reminded me of how my grandfather let me play with his hair. I enjoyed the list. I can almost picture him.

  4. mrssurridge said,

    March 18, 2015 at 2:55 am

    As soon as I started reading this I began to picture my grandpa in his chair in the living room. I really enjoyed reading this.


Leave a Reply

