Mommy-Son Day, SOLC 2015, 16 of 31

Saturday was Daddy-Daughter day which also meant that it was Mommy-Son day. At home with my son, I was eager to make it a fun day for him too (since my daughter and husband were away in NYC for the day). So, after they left, still in our pajamas, I rattled off options – bowling? No. Movies? No. Playdates? No. Stay in our PJs all day? Yes. Play video games? Yes.

It was a rainy, cold, raw Saturday anyway – so why was I pushing it? I’m the type of person who likes to go places, do things. But my son, he likes to stay put. And what I finally realized is that letting him stay put, in his pjs, playing his games WAS his idea of the perfect mommy-son day.

Later in the day, I asked him if he wanted to play a game. He did. We played Monopoly and Life and he won both. He was very happy. It was his perfect-stay-home-in my pjs-cuddle with mommy-kind of day.

3 Comments

  1. March 16, 2015 at 12:55 pm

    Rainy days are made for “cuddle with mommy” time! I think it’s great that your son and daughter get one-on-one days with each of you.

  2. cvarsalona said,

    March 16, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    What a charming idea to have a special mother son or father daughter day. I am sure that these type of days will provide many memories of good times for your children when they grow up. Thanks for sharing your day.

  3. hopesm80 said,

    March 16, 2015 at 1:32 pm

    What a perfect reminder that often the time itself is just as important as what you’re doing with it. What a fun day with your son!


Leave a Reply

