Movie Reviews, SOLC 2015, 14 of 31

Because I tend to post poems, I’m branching out today to write a movie review for two movies that I just really enjoyed watching. It’s a rainy saturday here and the forecast is for rain, rain and more rain, therefore, a good day to head to the movie theater or stay put and watch one at home.

Following is review of McFarland USA and Million Dollar Arm. Both films are based on true stories and brought to life via Disney films. My favorite part of both films are the epilogues that follow the end of the film and tell the stories of the real people that the story features as well as showing their images. But, I get ahead of myself.

McFarland USA is a story about a down and out football coach who brings a small migrant town to life by starting a cross-country track team. He has never run, never coached running before, but sees potential in a group of students who don’t see potential in themselves. Through running, dedication and learning about each other, the group ends up winning the state championship. What’s more, this coach leads that school’s team to 9 championships in the next 14 years.

I watched this movie with my family including my 10 year old daughter and 8 year old son. We all just loved it. There was a story line that everyone could relate to. 3 1/2 stars out of 4.

Million Dollar Arm is another true story about how Major League Baseball went to India to find new talent. The story is heartwarming, heartbreaking at times and chronicles the search for new talent, bringing 3 potential players from India to the US and how they assimilate to the US culture – what they know and don’t know, and their struggles and success. I watched this movie with my daughter and we both just loved the nature of the story and the lesson of triumph. 3 1/2 stars out of 4.

So, snuggle up and go watch a movie!

2 Comments

  1. Lynn said,

    March 14, 2015 at 3:31 pm

    Oh my gosh I loved McFarland too! I love the passion and love the movie represented! I totally agree the epilogue at the end was the best! I have not seen the second movie but will surely put it on my list. Thanks!

  2. ptsuthers said,

    March 14, 2015 at 8:33 pm

    Oh thanks for posting. I especially look forward to the seeing the running movie. My oldest son was a runner (X-country and track) and it’s such an under-rated sport.


Leave a Reply

