Doggie Play Time, SOLC 2015, 7 of 31

Saturday morning. Doggie play time. My almost 2 year old Golden Retriever pup wants to play. He follows me to the laundry room where I pull out my red drawstring bag with his water bowl. I fill the two water bottles and put them in my bag. He knows. We are going to the Dog Park.

He stands by the door, ready to leave.
Not yet, pup.
I put on my boots, my coat, my hat.
I take off his invisible fence collar. He jumps up, ready to go.
Not yet, pup.

I open the door to outside and he bolts to the car.
Now, pup.
Into the truck, and off the the park.

He knows.
In the parking lot, on his leash
he pulls me to the dog park.

Pure doggy bliss as he meets his friends and romps
and runs
and wrestles.

Back in the car, he’s tired.
Back at home,
he sleeps.
Good puppy.

7 Comments

  1. Carol said,

    March 7, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    There is nothing in the whole world better than a happy golden retriever pup. Nothing. I love your repeating line. I can just picture your guy, waiting, with that hopeful golden retriever grin.

  2. Susanne said,

    March 7, 2015 at 3:04 pm

    What a fun time! Love your repeated phrasing and strong verbs.

  3. March 7, 2015 at 3:43 pm

    So cute! You’ve captured the excitement your dog so endearingly expresses about the dog park. He must make your Saturday mornings so much fun!

  4. March 7, 2015 at 6:01 pm

    I love the repeated line, ‘not now’ and then now! I agree with Carol…I think Goldens really smile! xo nanc

  5. March 7, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    Pure doggie bliss, I like the way you said that. Great poem!

  6. aileenhower said,

    March 8, 2015 at 12:17 am

    You communicate his excitement so well through your writing. Good dog!

  7. caroline524 said,

    March 8, 2015 at 3:53 am

    What a great way to draw the audience in. Great description of the excitement and bliss at the end of a good time in the park.


Leave a Reply

