Cream Puff Conclusion, SOLC 2015, 6 of 31

Yesterday, during our snow day, my daughter and I made cream puffs. It was something she wanted to do. Something I had never done. Using a recipe from my aunt (one of her signature dishes) we embarked on making this recipe. It was a bit complicated. Lots of steps. Baking at different temperatures for different amounts of time. Lots of time in between each step – cooling before filling. Making the filling including making pudding and whipping up the heavy cream until it was stiff. Then folding them together. Filling the pastry bag to fill the puffs.

In fact,in the middle, my daughter abandoned me. “This is too complicated,” she said, going to watch TV. “But wait, this was YOUR idea!” I said, “you need to come help me finish it!” I started the filling and she helped me finish whipping the cream and filling them.

We did it. They came out perfectly. Cream puff looking and tasting desserts! Amazing.

Then my daughter tasted it and decided that no, in fact, she did not like the taste of cream puffs. The pastry was too plain. So we added some powdered sugar. Nope, she still wasn’t a fan.

That’s okay with me because I wasn’t looking forward to making these again! But we tried and learned that we could do it if we wanted to and that’s what matters.

4 Comments

  1. Glenda Funk said,

    March 6, 2015 at 1:40 pm

    You are brave, but isn’t that the way life goes sometimes: Something looks good and tasty but turns out not to be what we want. Still, we must find out through experience. Love the lesson in this post, and I’m a little jealous of your baking skills!

  2. March 6, 2015 at 1:45 pm

    Thanks for doing the follow-up post. I can’t believe she abandoned you. Glad they turned out well, though!

  3. jarhartz said,

    March 6, 2015 at 2:27 pm

    What a slice! So classic — kids get the great idea then poop out when the going gets tough. Good for you making her stick it out. You’re a great momma!

  4. elsie said,

    March 6, 2015 at 5:13 pm

    Love to eat cream puffs, but not a fan of making them. They are a lot of work, somehow mine never puff up big enough. Now you’ve got me wanting some.


Leave a Reply

