Moving out of your comfort zone with Cream Puffs, SOLC 2015, 5 of 31

I like to bake. I can whip up a batch of chocolate chip cookies without looking at the recipe. I’ll make a batch of brownies on a whim. Sugar cookies? No problem. I’m a much more confident baker than I am a cook. But, I have to admit, I’m a little intimidated by the idea of making cream puffs.

Inspired by a kids baking contest on TV, my daughter has been asking me to make cream puffs with her. I’ve never made them. I do, however, have a recipe for cream puffs from my aunt (who has since passed away). It was one of her signature desserts. It’s been sitting in the recipe book that I got at my engagement party 15 years ago. Her script handwriting preserved on the recipe card.

So, today, snowed-in again, we will embark on moving out of my comfort zone and into the world of making cream puffs. You never know until you try!

7 Comments

  1. Jennifer said,

    March 5, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    Recipes are a great way to preserve the memory of a loved one. Whenever you make or eat the creation, you remember the person who specialized in making the item. And even better, you can share the memories of the person with another while completing the recipe. Have fun!

  2. arjeha said,

    March 5, 2015 at 4:51 pm

    I enjoy baking as well. I do lots of cakes. Never tried anything with a puff pastry. Good luck. I am sure they will turn out just fine.

  3. March 5, 2015 at 4:54 pm

    Happy to have you slicing with us again this year, Jodi.

    Oooh, good luck! Trying a new recipe on a snow day is a perfect way to pass the time. Speaking of which, I have some GF brownies I need to start on!

  4. Lindy Lou said,

    March 5, 2015 at 8:20 pm

    Perfectly titled! When I read the title I knew I had to read this post. I am not that confident in the kitchen, but I do have a few signature dishes/treats.

  5. lchavosky said,

    March 5, 2015 at 8:38 pm

    Cream puffs sound delicious! I hope you’ll do a follow up and tell us how they turned out. I love the detail about your aunt’s cursive on the recipe card. It really is a family heirloom almost in a sense. A handwritten recipe passed down through generations. How cool.

  6. mrssurridge said,

    March 6, 2015 at 12:47 am

    I need you to come live at my house. I don’t cook, bake, boil or fry, but I love and respect and NEED someone who does. My mouth is watering just thinking of cream puffs…and cookies…and brownies…

  7. caroline524 said,

    March 8, 2015 at 3:54 am

    Funny. I think of cold snowy days as baking opportunities.


Leave a Reply

