Puppy Alarm, SOLC 2015, 4 of 31

Without fail, each morning, I wake to the click, click, click of his toenails across the wood floors. I hear his muted growl and feel his warm breath on my face. He sidles up to my bedside and plants his nose next to my face. “Good morning,” he says. ‘I’m hungry,” he says.

I try to ignore him, just a few more minutes in my warm bed. I pull the covers over my head.

One paw, two paws are now up on the bed. Another muted growl, “please?”

He’s too cute to refuse. I throw off my covers and we are off to breakfast.

No need for an alarm clock, I have a puppy.

7 Comments

  1. March 4, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    love, love this alarm clock and miss my pooch…your post brought back that morning joy….xo nanc

  2. CBethM said,

    March 4, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    Our cats are far less demanding in the morning, but the dog? She definitely makes us move. Puppies are amazing like that.

  3. heisereads said,

    March 4, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    I can totally relate to that experience! And even though my “puppy” is now eight years old, she still wakes me up for her breakfast.

  4. jen b. said,

    March 4, 2015 at 9:02 pm

    So very sweet. I long for a dog, and a schedule that would allow me to care for one. 🙂 Then again, I also appreciate the small amounts of sleep my schedule allows me – at what risk do I purchase a best friend that will keep me from sleep? 🙂 ~ j.

  5. BSoltero said,

    March 5, 2015 at 3:21 am

    I can totally relate! My dog usually wakes me up ☺️ and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

    • Barbara Weisbart said,

      March 5, 2015 at 3:01 pm

      can you train the puppy to go to the other side of the bed?

  6. caroline524 said,

    March 8, 2015 at 3:57 am

    I enjoyed your use of sound words to describe your alarm.
    It’s incredible how much we adjust to their routines.


Leave a Reply

