Braces, SOLC 2015, 2 of 31

My daughter will get her braces put on today. She’s excited and nervous. Me too. I remember having my braces (5 years!) like it was yesterday. The pain of the tightening of the wires, the wax that covered the metal brackets, the rubber bands in your mouth and the night brace. Mostly I remember the pain they brought.

But, I’m staying positive. For her, its a rite of passage – something exciting. And although she’s nervous, I’m trying not to spoil her excitement. She’ll have that on her own tomorrow when the pain sets in. Her orthodontist says it’ll be a two year process (much better than my 5 years!) and that she’ll have them off by her Bat Mitzvah. Let’s hope so.

I’m trying to channel the nervous energy of my 10 year old self and be in tune with her emotions as she embarks on this part of her growing up journey.

3 Comments

  1. Adrienne said,

    March 2, 2015 at 1:28 pm

    Funny to think she’s excited about it. It is such a common thing these days it does seem like a rite of passage. I never had braces and never wanted them. When I was a kid in the 60’s and 70’s they were the big ugly kind. Today’s braces actually look cool.

  2. March 2, 2015 at 2:03 pm

    I enjoyed the contrast between your own bad memories of having braces and your daughter’s excitement about them. I also liked how you are trying not to spoil her enthusiasm even though you know the pain that is coming. I had braces as well and mostly remember the pain. I hope the techniques have improved, for both your sakes!

    I’m new to slicing and will write my second slice later today. It will be at the top of this page. https://theonewiththebooks.wordpress.com
    I don’t blog about other stuff, so the slice should be easy to find.

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 2, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    Your story took me right back to middle school. The monthly wire tightening, the ugly blue wax, and the pain that lasted for days. Those were the worst four years of my life.
    At least she has a mom that, like mine, will be sympathetic to those uncomfortable days, make special meals that are easy to chew, and will remind her of how beautiful her smile will be when the braces come off.


Leave a Reply

