SOLC 30 of 31: Keeping a Promise

Last night, I kept a promise to my son. We went bowling.

Truth be told, it was only part of a promise that I kept, but we did it.  The rest is still owed to him.

You see, a few weeks ago, my daughter was at a sleepover party, so I promised my son that we could do whatever he wanted. Th at was easy, he wanted to go to “Moe’s” for dinner.  After dinner I offered a movie or bowling. He picked bowling. Then I realized that neither of us had socks with us. Bowling will have to be another time.

Last night, was the the other time. My daughter was at a birthday party and so I promised him “Moe’s” and “Bowling.” We wore socks. We were prepared. On the way to the party, my husband called after his day out to look at beach houses and asked us to meet him for dinner instead. Uh oh, no Moe’s. 

My son was in the backseat of the car during this conversation and had his headphones on and was playing his game. I didn’t think he heard the conversation.

“Did you hear that?” my daughter asked him? 

“What? That daddy is crashing my plans with mommy?” he said.

“We’ll go to Moe’s another time,” I said, hoping that would be okay.

“Okay. Can we still go bowling?” he asked, hopeful.

“Yes. We’ll go bowling and then go meet daddy,” I said, breathing a small sigh of relief.

I found a bowling alley near the restaurant where we were going to meet. We squeezed in one game for each of us. But we did it. I kept my promise and he was happy.

“Daddy,” he said at dinner, “you owe me two bowling games and Moe’s!”

4 Comments

  1. March 30, 2014 at 10:49 am

    I loved his response to your husband at the end! That’s a classic kid thing to say.

  2. jhaworthoy said,

    March 30, 2014 at 4:22 pm

    Good that you were able to keep your promise…at least part of it. And good that your son seems laid back enough to go with the flow…but is still not going to forget the rest of the promise. 🙂

  3. mgminer said,

    March 31, 2014 at 1:39 am

    Maybe someday you’ll need to remind him that you did keep that promise when other disappointments arise. Parenting is such a balancing act of doing our best even when it isn’t quite perfect.

  4. caroline524 said,

    March 31, 2014 at 1:55 am

    I loved his response to his father. I am quite sure there will be many reminders about the debt.


Leave a Reply

