SOLC 26 of 31: Not what I expected

Yesterday morning what not what I expected.

Being a school principal, I’m used the days taking on a life of their own, but yesterday was a little more of a rough start than usual.

I left the house on time. Ready to be at the building early to return the edited report cards to teacher mailboxes before heading off to my all day meeting. Almost at school, I realized that I had left my phone at home.  Being at an all day administrative meeting away from the building all day without my phone is not a good idea – especially since my AP was out with his new baby too!

I decided to go to the building to drop off the report cards and then return home (20 minutes each way) to get my phone. This proved to be a good move. Having picked up my phone and returned to the building where my meeting was taking place, I checked my phone for any messages before getting out of the car.  

Message: “xxx is out of control in the office. We need you. 20 minute meltdown.”

My reply: “coming.”

Out of the parking lot and back to the building to calm the child, calm the teachers, call the parent, coordinate with the psychologist and school counselor and leave a plan should the event reoccur.

Off the meeting, finally, an hour late. The rest of the day was without interruption.

Phew!

4 Comments

  1. Julie Crain said,

    March 26, 2014 at 12:22 pm

    Phew. Rough start indeed! Glad to hear the rest of your day was calm.

  2. tsudmeier said,

    March 26, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    What a crazy start to the day. At least is calmed down afterwards. I hate when I forget my phone. I feel like those are the days where something will happen

  3. mrssurridge said,

    March 27, 2014 at 1:45 am

    You just never know what will happen once you leave the safety of your home. It’s a jungle out there! Sounds like you put the fire out and headed on to your scheduled events like a pro.

  4. Jaana said,

    March 27, 2014 at 2:08 am

    Tough morning. I hoe that today your morning was more peaceful!


Leave a Reply

