SOLC 24 of 31: If Walls Could Talk, Part 2

In our car, about to leave, the daughter of the older woman followed us and said, “please come in, my mom wants to show you something.”

She wanted to invite us inside her home. Before doing so she asked my mom, “Do you remember the mirror?”  It seemed a test of shared history. 

“Of course! The mirror! Yes! Is it still there?” my mom asked in disbelief.

“Yes, come in, I’ll show you.”

We entered the duplex into a dark, purposely dimly lit room (to hide the state of disrepair of the room). In front of us, in the dining room, was a large mirror that planked the entire dining room wall.

“There it is,” my mother exclaimed. “Oh, that mirror!  My mom loved that mirror. It was a gift to her from my grandfather’s father as a home warming gift for them.  He had bought the house for them and then bought the mirror as well.  I remember when we moved, my mother wanted to bring the mirror with us, but the movers said that it wouldn’t be possible. She hated to leave it behind. I can’t believe it’s still here.”  My mom was tickled. 

She stood there in the dim room and took it all in.  Memories of childhood dinners, playing games and company flooded her thoughts. The space truly hadn’t changed.  We didn’t get to see any more of the inside of the house, but what we saw was pretty magical for my mom anyway. For me and my children, it brought to life the stories of playing on the porch, sharing bedrooms and growing up in Newark. 

Finally, ready to leave, we thanked our host and turned to go down the porch steps. 

“Would you like to see next door?” the adult son asked us.

4 Comments

  1. Dana Murphy said,

    March 24, 2014 at 1:07 pm

    I wish I could go back in my childhood home. I’m sure it’s changed so much. I’d really like to go back in time and be standing in my kitchen as I remember it. Oh, the memories. I’m so happy your mom had this experience. You, too.

  2. March 24, 2014 at 1:12 pm

    It sounds like there are a million stories lurking in those walls. I want it hear more!

  3. Barbara Weisbart said,

    March 25, 2014 at 12:04 am

    My family and I lived in our home in Newark from before I was born until I was 11. There I played with my many cousins. A home filled with love, many visits from aunts, uncles, and grandparents, all living near by. Seeing it again was amazing, and I could so clearly see myself as a child in the home. Thanks Jodi for making me smile and be flooded with memories. More stories to tell your children!

  4. Jaana said,

    March 25, 2014 at 1:07 am

    I was so happy to read the second part, but now I think there is more!! What a wonderful treat for your mom to visit an old memory!


Leave a Reply

