SOLC 20 of 31: The Missing Lanyard

“Why are you taking your jacket upstairs?” I asked my son.

“Because.” he said, holding his gray and orange winter coat in his hand and heading up the stairs.

Strange, I thought. 

“You don’t need to bring your coat upstairs,” I said.

“I know.” he said, continuing to move up the stairs.

 

Later that evening, I was still searching for my missing school ID lanyard. As a school principal, this lanyard has my master keys on it to both buildings, a fire door key and my ID. It’s everything.  We are expected to wear it daily, as is our staff. It is my PROX card to get into my building and other district buildings.  So, when I couldn’t find it earlier that morning, I was a little stressed out.

For the umpteenth time, I check my workbag, emptied my purse, checked all of my coat pockets – no luck.  So I decided to engage my family in the search.  

“$5 for anyone who finds my ID badge.”

“Did you say $5?” my son piped up?

“Yes, why?”

“Oh, did you check upstairs?” he said, smiling.

“Why would it be upstairs?” I asked, now putting his earlier actions together.

“I don’t know, let’s just check.” he said.

So he led me upstairs to my room and on my husband’s bedside table, was my lanyard.

“Here it is!” he said. 

Phew!

“But you don’t have to give me the $5,” he said.

“Why not?” I asked, knowing the answer.

“Well, I took your lanyard to school by accident today. I hid it in my jacket pocket yesterday when we were in the car and then when I got to school today I had it. I thought you would be mad. Sorry,” he explained, giving me a cute face.

“I’ll give you $1 for being honest and helping me find my lanyard. How’s that?” I said.

“Good, but you don’t have to!” he smiled. I gave it to him anyway. 

3 Comments

  1. bbutler627 said,

    March 20, 2014 at 11:37 am

    The honesty that he dumped out is just too cute! Love that you rewarded him with a dollar! I would have done the same. Great slice! Glad I stopped by!

  2. Adrienne said,

    March 20, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    Great slice. Honesty can be hard, but you seem to have a great relationship with your sone. He wasn’t afraid to tell you the truth.

  3. Barbara Weisbart said,

    March 21, 2014 at 2:04 am

    Love the way you described this. I can just see Max taking the coat upstairs and the look on his face when he told you where they were. Good thing you found the lanyard with all those important keys!


Leave a Reply

