SOLC 19 of 31: Honoring my mom, just because

At funerals, I often listen to the eulogies that people give and wish that the person who died could hear them. If they only knew how much influence they had, lessons they taught or stories that resonated.  Maybe they did.  But do we tell the people we love and appreciate that we do love and appreciate them while they are alive? If we do, we don’t do it enough.  So, a slice today to honor my mom – a living eulogy, I guess.

My mom is one of the most selfless people I know. She loves me and my brother and my children unconditionally, truly.  We recently had a  conversation where I had told her, “you’re a pain in the neck.”  She said, “I just told you that you are perfect and you told me that I’m a pain in the neck, what does that say about our relationship?”  It actually says everything!  She is a constant cheerleader, confidant and cautious advice giver.  She is endlessly proud of my accomplishments both personally and professionally – and tells me so, often.  

My mom is a do-gooder. She is the embodiment of mitzvahs and leads a life that models the ones that we should lead as compassionate and caring members of society.  She currently works with older adults and seniors in offering programming for them.  She honors their stories, finds ways to engage them, and advocates for them with their own families who may be tired of their antics or issues.

My mom makes me feel like the most beautiful and fashionable person in the world. Even with an extra 10, 20, 30 pounds on me, she always comments on how nice I look or my clothing.  Never, ever has she made me feel self-conscious about my weight (even though it’s been a battle my whole life).  

My mom works hard and puts herself before others. She will give you her car if you need it, her coat if you need it, she’ll even give you a place to stay if you need it.

My mom doesn’t yell. Not at all. Almost never. As a kid, I can’t remember her yelling at us. Now, when I get frustrated with my own kids and yell at them, I wonder why I can’t be more like my mom.

So, mom, today, know that you are a role model, an inspiration and I love that you are my biggest fan. Thank you for being you!

 

4 Comments

  1. Nf said,

    March 19, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    Funny, today I felt compelled to honour my Mom in a small way too. You’re Mom sounds beautiful and she’s also very lucky to have a daughter like you … Take care!

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 19, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    Great way to describe your mom. Your love and admiration come through in this piece. I’m sure she would love a copy of this.

  3. Terje said,

    March 19, 2014 at 3:40 pm

    You are right, we should share more often the positive we think about people. You honored your mother beautifully. I hope she read this.

  4. Barbara Weisbart said,

    March 20, 2014 at 12:56 am

    Wow! Thanks Jodi. You have touched my soul and heart and brought tears to my eyes! Thanks for giving me this gift. I will treasure it always..
    Love, Mom


Leave a Reply

