SOLC 17 of 31: Organization and Inspiration

Kids are amazing. This weekend, I drew inspiration from both my 7 year old son and 9 year old daughter.

My daughter is highly organized. I’m pretty organized, but she’s highly organized. She’s rearranged all of her clothing drawers and folded everything just perfectly. Her drawers look as though she’s been trained by THE GAP or some other retail store. I didn’t train her. My drawers don’t look like that. Last weekend, she rearranged my drawers.  Last night she did a “spot check” to see how I was doing keeping it up.  She reports, that I’m doing, “pretty good.”  I’m trying to keep my drawers in good shape for my next “spot check,” but it’s hard work – not natural for me like it is for her.  But she inspires me to be even more organized than I already am, so I’ll keep trying! I’m awed by her natural ability to organize, categorize and maintain those structures.

 

My son likes to ride his scooter. Really fast. Up and down the hill of the road to our cul-de-sac.  Yesterday, in the cold March winds, he scooted for hours with his playmate friend. After his friend left, he asked me to ride my bike along side of him.  I did (I need the exercise anyway).  It was fun, riding and scooting along together. I didn’t feel the strain of the exercise, just the joy of doing it together. I didn’t feel the cold of the wind (well, I did, but it didn’t matter), I just enjoyed the free spirit and happiness on his face as he glided down the hill, fast and worry free.

Need inspiration? Just look to your kids. 

2 Comments

  1. March 17, 2014 at 12:59 pm

    What wonderful memories you are creating together. Thanks for sharing this glimpse of your life.

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 17, 2014 at 1:38 pm

    I love the line where you said, “her drawers look as though she’s been trained by THE GAP.” I immediately had an image of well folded, and color coded drawers. Hope you pass your next inspection.


Leave a Reply

