SOLC 16 of 31: Kite Flying

It’s not often that the weather cooperates to fly kites.  Kite flying seems to be one of those elusive activities that can only happen when the weather is right, the equipment is there and you have the patience to proceed.

But the last two days have been gusty winds around here.  On Friday, my daughter found her kite in the shed and brought it out.  She ran and got it up in the air several times with some success (more than usual).  

Yesterday, my son and his friend took turns flying the kite.  The wind cooperated and although they had many short-lived flying runs, they had several instances where the kite caught a large lengthy gust and sailed above their heads for a few minutes. 

“This is AWESOME!” my 7 year old son shouted.

 

Kite Flying variation intro with setting focus:

The wind gusted in the cu-de-sac.  The rainbow kite swooped and sailed as the boys took turns running with the kite string. Up, up, up, up…and DOWN.  Nosedive.  Reel in the string, Again. The warm spring sun urged them on while the wind gusts cooperated enough to allow them some success.

 

Kite flying variation intro with dialogue:

“Hey, can I try?” said my son’s friend.

“Sure, let me help you,” I said, reeling in string of the diamond shaped rainbow colored kite. 

3 Comments

  1. dogtrax said,

    March 16, 2014 at 11:07 am

    Gusty winds
    bring
    all possible things
    even on days when we wonder
    if our words will ever find a way
    to fly.

    -Kevin
    PS — lifting lines for poems this morning. Your post keeps me aloft.

  2. Cindy said,

    March 16, 2014 at 11:38 am

    I wanted to choose one as my favorite, but could see reasons to use any of them. I love how you used the variations to share your slice today.

  3. March 17, 2014 at 1:27 am

    I haven’t flown a kite in such a long time. Like maybe 20 years. I am totally up for doing that now. (Though it may have to wait a couple of more years if I want my daughter to tag along. I’m not sure her 3 y.o. self has enough attention span.)


Leave a Reply

