SOLC 9 of 31: Beach Dreaming

Today, as spring still wrestles winter to finally emerge, we are heading to the beach to look at beach houses to purchase. We did this at the same time last year. Not sure if it’s more a dream than a reality.  It’s funny though, when shopping for a vacation home. The dream of it is so much more romantic than the reality of it. I like to let myself stay in the dream zone – with no responsibility, just enjoyment. With ocean views and sandy feet, not flood zones and sandy carpets. With family time, not landlord time. 

I grew up visiting my grandparents in their beachfront condo in Florida. The condo had all of its windows facing the ocean – now THIS was oceanfront. My concept, therefore, of oceanfront and ocean view properties is a bit skewed. The realtor blurbs about it being close to ocean are always, not close enough.  The views, are often, not clear enough. The price often, way over budget!

So, we set off today to see if the dream can become a reality. If the family time we seek and the summer get-a-way we hope for is out there somewhere for us.  Today, I’ll have to have my head somewhere between the dream zone and the reality zone – but I much prefer the dream zone. 

6 Comments

  1. Julie said,

    March 9, 2014 at 1:43 pm

    That dream zone sounds heavenly! Hope you find the perfect place for your family.

  2. travelinma said,

    March 9, 2014 at 1:44 pm

    The notion of staying in the dream zone and just enjoying certainly is appealing. I love the crafting of your lead on this piece. It is fun to dream. Everyone needs dreams.

  3. Ramona said,

    March 9, 2014 at 2:15 pm

    I love the phrase, “as spring still wrestles winter.” When I think of beach homes, I always want to revisit Gift from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh

  4. rissable said,

    March 9, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    So happy for you….I have the same dream.

  5. Lynn said,

    March 9, 2014 at 3:46 pm

    How very exciting . . . yea I agree sometimes the dream zone trumps the reality zone but remember with out our dreams there are no realities!

  6. Jaana said,

    March 9, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    Even with no purchase, you will have a lovely time exploring and thinking about your grandparents.


Leave a Reply

