SOLC 4 of 31: Bamboozled!

As I write this, the puppy that I didn’t want, warms my feet. And, I love it.

Bamboozled. Tricked. Manipulated into saying yes.  Convinced that although I knew it wasn’t a good idea, that it would, indeed, be, a good idea.

 This is the story of how I got bamboozled into letting my kids get a pet dog.

For the past 9 years, I’ve had a no pet policy in my house. No fish, no hamsters, no gerbils, no bunnies. No pets. I held firm on that. I had a pretty solid stand (or so I thought).  I had a good game plan. My husband wanted cats, but I hate cats (that’s another entry).  So, as long as I didn’t want cats and he didn’t want a dog, we were good.  Until one day, when he did want a dog.  My kids, of course, wanted a dog, so then it was 3 against 1. Them vs. me.  Those in favor of furry friends and those against. 

 They started researching dog breeds. They took surveys about the best kind of dog to suit our family.  They watched YouTube videos, they took books out of the library, they loaded e-shopping carts with dog items. Oy! 

 Somewhere, somehow in late May or early June, in a car ride to somewhere, I agreed that we maybe could get a dog.  (We had just seen a really cute Goldendoodle puppy at the baseball field!)

 We argued about breeds but narrowed it down to the Goldendoodle (my choice) and the Golden Retriever (everyone else’s choice).  I didn’t want a dog. I didn’t want a big dog. I didn’t want a big dog that sheds.  We chose the Golden Retriever and so, I got all 3 – a big dog who sheds!

 The final bamboozlement was when we went to visit the adult dog who was due to have a new litter in 2 weeks.  My kids loved the adult dogs and the breeder was lovely.  We committed to the puppy on the car ride home from the breeder.  The deposit check was sent the next day. I was slowly tricked, encouraged and convinced that we should have a dog – and now we do. And that, is how you get bamboozled!

2 Comments

  1. March 4, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    Ha! You WERE bamboozled! 😉 I can totally relate to this post. I have a Cocker Spaniel now because of a Christmas present to my daughter. He’s pretty much mine. 😉 At lease he doesn’t shed!

  2. caroline524 said,

    March 6, 2014 at 1:51 am

    As someone about to pick up dog #2, I can truly say that I was the “bamboozler”! Sometimes we things we don’t think we want, truly fill a place in our hearts and homes.


Leave a Reply

