SOLC 30 of 31: The Benefits of Slicing

Nearing the end of my 3rd month long challenge, I making a list of why I enjoy this challenge so much.

1. It forces a good habit – writing every day
2. It pushes you beyond your comfort zone of topics – 31 topics is a stretch, so eventually you’ll need to dig deep and find new things to write about, research and reflect on.
3. Feedback. The feedback and value of the feedback from a community of writers cannot be underestimated. It fuels your writing and inspires you to write more.
4. Reading other slices – gives you perspective, ideas and inspires new genres or topics that I might not have otherwise thought of.
5. Documenting a moment in time of your life – this is truly a gift for ourselves, to document our thoughts for one month of the year. One day, we’ll look back and read our entries and say, “wow, why was I thinking about that?” or “oh, I remember that!”
6. Playing with genres – because these entries don’t have to be anything, they can be everything – short or long, poems or prose, conversations or reflections – and the opportunity to have complete control over that is itself inspiring.

8 Comments

  1. March 30, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    This is my first month slicing, but I have found the same benefits. I’ll definitely keep going–maybe not every day until next March, but I’ll be back on Tuesdays.

    • Rachel S. said,

      March 30, 2013 at 2:01 pm

      This was my first month too, and I’m so happy that I did it! It’s been a great experience!

  2. Chris H. said,

    March 30, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    Yes! I also find that since I can type, I will write more. And knowing there might be an audience makes me take a lot more care.

  3. elsie said,

    March 30, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    Nice summary of why this challenge is so special. If only there was time to read every slice every day.

  4. elle1955 said,

    March 30, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    We are singing off the same sheet of music.

  5. newtreemom said,

    March 30, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    True list of benefits! I would add to the list…insights for teaching.

  6. caroline524 said,

    March 31, 2013 at 3:02 am

    Congratulations on completing another month of slices!


Leave a Reply

