SOLC 27 of 31: A Gift of Writing

I am a Shutterfly photobook addict.
I’ve also been known to use Shutterfly to publish “text only” books that are collections of my SOLC entries for the month.
I have a coupon from Shutterfly in my inbox for a free book. So last night, I took my daughter’s 2nd and 3rd grade writing pieces and typed them up into a book for her. She is a Shutterfly expert, so she helped with the layout and backgrounds. We added a few pictures to support her work and BAM – the gift of writing – all shiny, hard-cover bound and a forever memento. We will finish and order the book today and eagerly await our orange box with our collection of writing!

Over the past two SOLC challenges, I’ve made my book AFTER the challenge. This year, all along the way, I’ve been copying and pasting my entries into my “SOLC Challenge Volume III” Shutterfly book. I’m just a few days away from ordering this gift for myself!

The collections of writing from a particular period of time in one’s life are priceless to have!

5 Comments

  1. pinkieup said,

    March 27, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    What a fantastic idea! It is clear that in your house writing is valued and cherished. Bravo!

  2. March 27, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    This is so cool! I want to do this for my sons’ art and stories – thank you for the idea!

  3. Patricia Holloway said,

    March 27, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    I love the idea of making a book of your writing. Only recently I have begun to write a few poems that I would like to put in a book. Thanks for sharing.

  4. mag said,

    March 27, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    Great idea! You have some memorable pieces to include. I’ve enjoyed reading your work.

  5. March 27, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    A great way of sharing writing. It is important to consider the many options we have for publishing. You have alerted me to a further option with this post. I must check it out. Each year, I print off the collected slices and paste them into a large volume suitably titled, Slices From A Life.’ It makes for easy access, when looking for new jumping off points to my writing.


Leave a Reply

