SOLC 24 of 31: Accessories

When I moved into my house 7 years ago, my mother and father and in-laws were here to help me unpack. It was great to have that kind of help (especially with a 2 year old and 3 week old)! But it was my mother-in-law who helped to accessorize. She put some artificial greenery above the cabinets and although I never would have chosen to do it myself, I have to admit that it adds a little bit of “life” to the kitchen. She helped pick out the cabinet in the entry way and the artificial flower arrangement that sits on it. Again, I wouldn’t have chosen it myself, but it is nice to have. She was instrumental in urging us to get our carpets and had a knack for shopping on line to find just the right colors, shapes and sizes.

Her mother, my husband’s grandmother, also made a flower arrangement for us. Additionally, in her younger days she sewed the curtains for my master bedroom, made “pottery barn” knock-off curtains for my daughter’s room and sewed seat covers for the dining room chairs.

My mother-in-law passed away a little over a year ago. Since then, I’ve thought many times about getting new flowers for the front hall (just to change up the colors) – but I don’t know where to begin. I mean, I do. I’ve gone to the store many times and looked at the flowers. But it’s just not my thing. I don’t know which types or colors to pick. My mother-in-law would. So, the flowers stay the same until I can channel my mother-in-law or take a risk to accessorize.

Leave a Reply

