SOLC 20 of 31: Grandpa Ira

The iconic image of Grandpa Ira
with his cigar
in his mouth
and his fingers
on the piano
is the one
that I
remember most.

But our days
of country club
dinners
talks of golf
club outings
and secrets
about time served
in World War II
are memories that
linger.

Our last visit
he sat on my porch
held my 3 week
old daughter
and showed
all his tenderness
in that one
moment.

He was tempered
calm
cool
organized
and captivating
sometimes intimidating,
but always inspiring.

4 Comments

  1. Two years and finishing strong... said,

    March 20, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    I bet your grandpa is about my dad’s age. I’m so glad you have been fortunate to have him hold his great grand daughter. I’m sure he felt the awe and wonder.

  2. mpistek said,

    March 20, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    This poem strikes home to me… What a beautiful way to put it together and such a strong way to remember who he was to you!

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 21, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    When I read this, it felt like we went on a journey at very distinct times with you and your Grandpa.

  4. Steve Weisbart said,

    March 22, 2013 at 12:13 am

    Thank you, Jodi. You captured him perfectly.


Leave a Reply

