SOLC 16 of 31: Poppy

My grandpa (Poppy), died when I was 10. 29 years later I have fond but few memories of him. His birthday would have been March 14th. But these days, I feel that the only way besides pictures, to keep our memories vivid is to tell stories and write them down. My mom is a great story teller. I’m thinking that in my next few posts I’ll interview my mom, dad and my aunt and ask more questions about my grandparents who are no longer alive. But today, I’m thinking about Poppy.

Poppy, who had a short beard and a big laugh.
Poppy, who loved his light blue velvet chair and ottoman.
Poppy, who sat in that chair with a portable table in front of him and played Solitare for hours on end.
Poppy, who let me as a little girl stand behind him and compb his hair while he played Solitare.
Poppy, who taught me to play Solitaire.
Poppy, who would have me stand inside of his legs while he sat in his blue chair and then clasp them together tight while I tried to get away. I loved it.
Poppy, who read a book a day or more every week.
Poppy, the optometrist who always made sure I had the most fashionable glasses.
Poppy, who let me pick prizes from the prize box at his optometrist office.
Poppy, who was warm and cuddly and like a huge teddy bear.

3 Comments

  1. dmurphy2013 said,

    March 16, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    What a touching tribute to your Poppy! I loved “who had a short beard and a big laugh.” I just loved the rhythm of that line.
    I think it’s a wonderful idea to interview your family and write more about Poppy! Good luck!

  2. jhaworthoy said,

    March 16, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    What wonderful memories of your Poppy. I think it is a great idea to interview your family and their stories. My blog is supposed to be a collection of such stories…my mother was such a story teller and I want to write as many as i can remember. It is a good thing for you to do it now. Each family is full of exciting, touching, and funny stories. I’d like to read some of yours. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. caroline524 said,

    March 19, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    I love your list. I think I will borrow this idea to write my memories about my grandfather.


Leave a Reply

