SOLC 12 of 31: Lesson Learned

I thought I was dying on Sunday night. I’m only 39.
I thought for sure I was having a heart attack.
Rest assured, I wasn’t.

You see, I’d been having a pain in my upper left chest above my heart for over a month and it was really intense on Sunday night.
So I lay in bed, stressing, wondering.
Of course, I had googled it – WORST THING to do ever! Especially since you don’t really know what you are looking up.
Pain in the chest? Go directly to ER.
Well, clearly I wasn’t going to do that!

But I was anxious and scared enough to call my doctor Monday morning and see her.
On the drive over, I imagined the worst – having her send me to the hospital for tests for blockages, etc.

Diagnosis: Inflamed ribs.
Prescription: Aleve for 2 weeks.
Lesson learned: don’t wait a month for piece of mind that could have saved you a LOT of worry!!!

I’m glad I went to the doctor, even though it wasn’t convenient because it was really painful yesterday and last night would have been another long anxious night. But the peace of mind she gave me allowed me to have a peaceful night.

6 Comments

  1. March 12, 2013 at 11:12 am

    I’m glad that you did have it checked out, and hope that your ribs will be better soon. Was it an athletic injury ? xo

  2. March 12, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Fear is powerful, yes? I’m so glad that you went to your doctor and that you’re ok. Thanks for the reminder to be proactive about our health.

  3. amelia1973 said,

    March 12, 2013 at 2:45 pm

    Fear is terrible. I am glad you went to the doctor.

  4. jhaworthoy said,

    March 12, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    Wow, I am glad that you went to the doctor and that it was not your heart. I have done that …waiting to hear the news…fearing that it would be bad…and finding it is not as bad. Wonder why we do that? How in the world did you bruise your ribs? Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  5. Caroline said,

    March 12, 2013 at 10:27 pm

    It is incredible how your imagination can get the best of you and prevent you from being proactive. I have also had the experience of googling symptoms and fearing the worst scenario.
    I’m glad you’re feeling better!


Leave a Reply

