SOLC 11 of 31: Working towards a goal

I’m working towards a new fitness goal – running a 5K at the end of April. I’ve done a run/walk before a few years ago, but I’m hoping this time I can mostly run it. After committing to this a few weeks ago, today I learned that my husband’s entire extended family is entering a 5K run at the end of May – running in honor of his mother who passed away from Ovarian Cancer in January 2012. My goal just got a HUGE boost. Now my training has more meaning and momentum. Training for the one in April will be a wonderful preview to the family run in May.

I was excited for the one in May just because it would be a goal. But now I see it as a means to an end, a stop along the way for the May 5K that I’ll be running with my family – team shirts and all. This one’s for Diane!

5 Comments

  1. March 11, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    I’d say this is “synchronistic” – you were meant to run! Best wishes in your training.

  2. brighidk28 said,

    March 11, 2013 at 11:52 pm

    Aw! That’s awesome! It’s amazing how people and purpose can motivate us. Best of luck to you. šŸ™‚ You already appreared dedicated- now now coupled with the love and support of your family, you’re going to kill it!

  3. Sarah Cline said,

    March 11, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    Having a meaningful goal makes the training so much better! Good luck on your goal. You’ll be great!

  4. mayawoodall said,

    March 12, 2013 at 1:19 am

    What an awesome boost to a great goal!

  5. caroline524 said,

    March 12, 2013 at 1:48 am

    What a wonderful thing to do in her honor. You have already won just by your commitment to this goal. Bravo!


Leave a Reply

