SOLC 3 of 31: The Horses in My Backyard, Take 3

It was a dark and snowy night. The roads were slick and I had just made a right turn onto the curvy road that leads towards my house.  This road was one that too many drove too fast on.  The regulars took the turns quickly, not slowing down for the slick roads or dark conditions.  I slowed down to make a left onto the street leading to my development.

Something startled me – something big was heading towards me, lit by the glow of my headlights.

I slammed on my brakes.  The car shuttered to a stop.

“Whoa mom!” my daughter shouted.

We looked up and saw two horses running directly toward us.  Either they were going to kill us or we were going to kill them.  They were heading to the busy, curvy road where drivers go too fast.  They would either be killed, or kill someone who hit them.

I make a quick K-turn with my car and nudged myself into the intersection of my road and the busy one.  I flashed my headlights at every oncoming car – warning them to slow down – that something was not right.  I followed the horses slowly with my car, while asking my daughter to call 9-1-1 on my phone.  We, once again, reported the escaped horses, but this time with more urgency since they were tearing down a dark, curvy, busy, well-traveled road.

About a 1/4 mile after beginning to follow them, the horses made a right into the driveway of a house that also leads to the path to their farm.  I pulled in the driveway and sighed a sigh of relief.  We made it. They made it. Phew.

2 Comments

  1. Lori Kidder said,

    March 3, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    Well written. I could feel the tension. How do they keep getting out? Oh wait….I’ll go read the rest of your blog.

  2. pinkieup said,

    March 4, 2013 at 2:47 am

    Wow! I felt like I was right there with you! What an amazing experience and story.


Leave a Reply

