SOLC 2 of 31: The Horses in my Backyard: Take 2

So I’ve been thinking a lot lately about writing territories and writing topics – an not reinventing the wheel each time we (or our students) set out to write.  Rather, flipping the genre, keeping the topic and seeing how that changes the writing.  So, here is my  next post, same topic as Day 1, but different than the narrative.

Dear Miss Manners,

I have an unconventional question regarding poop in my backyard.  Yes, poop.  You see, my neighbor has a farm with 4 beautiful horses on it. But, they keep escaping to my backyard and while grazing on my grass are also pooping on my grass.  What’s a girl to do?  Is it okay to call my neighbor and ask her to come and clean up after her horses?  I’m thinking that’s what I would expect from a dog owner – so does the same apply to horse owners?  Or, am I being too fussy and should just use the poop as great fertilizer for my lawn?

Sincerely,

Confused neighbor

 

 

1 Comment

  1. margaretsmn said,

    March 2, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    I think, having read both posts, that you need to call your neighbor to come get her poop as well as her horses. It looks like your neighbors need to have some work done on their property to better corral their horses.
    With that said, your two posts are good examples of using the same theme for different writing genres. Kelly Gallagher talks about that in his recent book, Write Like This
    He has students choose an interest area and chart the different ways they can write about it.


Leave a Reply

